x

Patient Testimonials

I came down to Marshall, MN to have my ankle fixed. In the meantime my knee was causing me so much pain. I was referred to Dr. Chatrath who took an x-ray and an MRI. Dr. Chatrath ended up doing surgery on my knee. I am very well pleased. I never figured I could get things done so fast. The hospital stay was excellent. I was treated like a king. I went back to Watertown, SD for therapy. This is my 2nd visit back in Marshall, MN. Everything is looking good. I have no pain whatsoever. Derek was excellent and more than pleasant. Every question my family or I asked, Derek explained everything. He would walk by my room and stick his head in just to say hello. Julie was also very helpful. I am very happy with the whole situation. Thank you to Dr. Chatrath, the people that worked in the hospital and also the secretaries. It was worth the drive from Watertown, SD. I am 84 years old and Dr. Chatrath made my knee feel like I am 20. I’m working on the farm again with no issues.

– RS –

He knew what he was doing and how to care for me and at my age too. I received excellent care. He knows how to care for his patients. I have run across other people that he has helped and they are doing great and they have praised him too. I am so thankful.

– JB –

After seeing many back doctors in the past, I was ready to give up. I came in thinking I had back trouble but little did I know I had 2 tears in my hip. About 90% of my back problems are gone now after having surgery. I wake up with a back ache but once I get up and going it is gone. I was on Hydrocodone for 5 years and now I am off it. I take nothing. It is the best feeling.

– JK –

He has done an excellent job of taking care of me and the surgery went well. He has always been there to check up on me and does a good job with communication. He did an excellent job with my surgery. He is one of the top surgeons. He’s always good for a hug as well.

– BS –

I fell on May 3rd and broke my left wrist badly. Dr. Chatrath said that normally at age 80 we would not do surgery but because of the break they had to do surgery. They put in 6 screws and 1 plate. I have been very happy with Dr. Chatrath and his staff. They have been very understanding and have explained things well. I am taking therapy and my hand is doing great in my opinion. Thanks to all.

– VH –

I found Dr. Chatrath to be very friendly and to have command of his facts. He is very intellectual. I have no complaints. I’m doing very well.

– BK –

I was having knee pain and thinking it was my knee I was having issues with and went to see Dr. Chatrath. After examination, he found out it was my hip. After surgery, I healed very fast and had no pain. After 10 days, I was no longer using my walker. I would recommend Dr. Chatrath to anyone needing any kind of joint surgery. It was like a miracle. He is wonderful. I thank Dr. Chatrath for his skills.

– DW –

I would recommend Dr. Chatrath to anyone who is looking to have a joint replacement. He prepared me well for the procedure by recommending pre-op physical therapy and joint camp so there were no surprises for me. I knew exactly what to expect. If I need further joint replacements, he would be the only surgeon I would consider.

– WR –

I am very happy with Dr. Chatrath’s surgical skills and the care I received while I was in the hospital. I will be having my other knee done eventually and I hope Dr. Chatrath is still here to do that one. He’s also got a good sense of humor.

– MT –

From the first consultation through both hip surgeries and follow ups, Dr. Chatrath, Dr. Chatrath’s staff, same day surgery staff, 2nd floor surgical staff, and therapy staff performed at a very professional level with very positive attitudes. I had such a good experience I would recommend Dr. Chatrath and Avera to anyone. I am recommending very serious consideration to people I talk to that they should go to Avera.

– AK –

When I was about to get this operation, I was really concerned about who I was going to have do it. So I checked around with people and asked how they felt about it. I also checked with another surgeon and once I found out about the 2 doctors’ records I was more than ready to have Dr. Chatrath do my hip. If anyone asks me about it, I will be more than willing to tell them don’t worry this doctor knows what he is doing.

– LH –

For 3 years I was told that my pain was in my back. I was given physical therapy for months trying to get rid of the pain. I was given injections on 2 different occasions. Rick Juenaman was the one that figured out that it was my hip. He visited with Dr. Chatrath and surgery was scheduled as soon as possible.
I am a truck driver and I would be in pain just walking to and from the truck for whatever reason. My dog travels with me and walking her was nearly impossible.
We love to travel and doing any walking to the sites of interest with my wife was slow and painful.
I like to cut fire wood that we use in the winter. That is my form of exercise during the summer. I found it impossible to do that and many of the other activities to keep me active.
We had a trip planned to France on October 2nd, 2016. My surgery was on August 24th. Dr. Chatrath cleared me for my trip which had many walking tours planned. I was able to take part in all of them.
My life is totally changed from 3 years ago.
Thank you for a great job done

– EP –

It has been 6 months since I had my surgery and it went very well. I am able to resume all activities without any pain. Everyone was very helpful.

– MP –

About 12 years ago I was having right knee problems. I had a total knee replacement. It never seemed to be exactly perfect but it lasted for about 10-12 years. Then is started to really have a lot more pain and it seemed to be loose. I came to Dr. Chatrath and he did an x-ray and it showed where the artificial knee had started to loosen in the bone. He suggested another knee replacement surgery. He said it would be a little more of a problem because it was the second time. The surgery went very well. I was in the hospital about 3 days. They had to give me a blood transfusion because sometimes you bleed a little more because it’s a second replacement but everything went very well. I saw the doctor about 2 weeks later and then he ordered therapy. Therapy went fine. I had a little trouble – I thought I felt a lot of clicking in my knee. I went back to the doctor for my regular appointment. He showed me on the x-ray when you do a second replacement, he has to put a little longer pin in and that’s what’s going to click for awhile. I just had my 6 month x-ray and exam and I’m very happy. My knee is really good. I get up in the morning and I don’t even think “knees” anymore. They’re both really good. I would recommend Dr. Chatrath to anybody.

– FDS –

For several years I worked in the hospital/nursing home. As time went on it got harder for me to walk down the halls. I could not run if we had a code or a patient falling out of bed. I couldn’t run to help them. I had to walk. After I got home from the night shift, I couldn’t do anything. I was taking 800 mg of ibuprofen every four hours. My knee never quit hurting. I called Dr. Chatrath for an appointment. When I came in he had me on the bed, he said “look at your legs. Look how straight your left leg is. Your right leg is in California.” It was crooked from the knee down. I asked what we could do. He said I needed a total knee replacement. I said okay. We scheduled it. I came in and did the surgery. The pain after the surgery was terrible. I asked if I could get pain medicine before they walked me up the steps. It hurt really bad for weeks. I went to therapy through Big Stone Therapy. They were so good with me. They did everything they could to help me. When I was through with therapy, I got rid of my walker and cane. I quit taking the ibuprofen. They put me on a nerve pill and Voltaren gel and pill, which I’m still on. It’s been a year and my right knee is just like brand new. I have no pain. I can do everything. Dr. Chatrath told me I could never run with it. He also said to try not to kneel on it. I could try to kneel but if it hurt to get back up. It’s better than my good knee. The surgery went well. Therapy was excellent. If I had to have the other knee done, I’d want stronger pain meds or a patch because I’d never want to go through that pain again. It’s all better now and I’m just glad I finally had it done.

– RO –

My left knee ached for about 5 years. I knew something was wrong because I’d had knee surgery on my right leg. I just kept waiting. My daughter told me I was too old to have surgery. I finally told myself I was my own boss and knew I needed surgery. I made an appt. with my hometown doctor. Friends had told me Dr. Chatrath was very good so I decided to come here. I had my left knee replaced on May 2nd. Surgery went good. The hospital was a very good place. I wish I could have stayed in the hospital but went to swing beds at a different hospital. I did physical therapy and they were very good. They even came to my house and helped me make my home safe. Now about 11 weeks later, I’m doing very well. The physician’s assistant said he was amazed at how high I could raise my leg today. Dr. Chatrath did a very good job. He’s a very nice doctor.

– AR –

I was suffering from moderate to severe knee pain and after taking a MRI it was evident that my knee needed to be replaced. I had heard so many good comments about Dr. Chatrath from my friends and other community people that I knew I wanted it done by him in our local hospital. I can honestly say that every person on his team…..beginnning with the x-ray people and the joint pain clinic…….to the actual folks that were involved in surgery were outstanding! Obviously Dr. Chatrath had something to do with this professional service that I received here and I could not be happier with the outcome. I am three months post surgery and very pleased that I made the decision to have the surgery and am very appreciative of Dr. Chatrath and his skills and all of the people from Avera Marshall! He has a wonderful personality!!

– JF –

My knee had bothered me for 20-25 years and I was getting tired of the pain. I drove truck all the time and it was my clutch leg. I asked people who to go to and they recommended Dr. Chatrath. I called my doctor and told him I wanted to go to Dr. Chatrath and he referred me to him. I had my knee replaced on March 28, 2016. Today, June 23rd, I have no pain. I’m walking good and straight and I hardly have any scar at all. I did what the doctor and therapists told me to do. I exercised it and still doing it today. If you do what you’re told, you’ll turn out good. I talked to other people who went to other doctors and they’ve had problems. My sister had it done the same day and she’s doing good, too. I’m glad to have it done and feel real good. I thank Dr. Chatrath for doing a good job.

– ED –

Had a total left knee replacement in March 2016. I had heard nothing but good about Dr. Chatrath. Three months later now and I’m doing very well. Going up and down steps just fine. I did do what P.T. asked me to do and in about 4 weeks was all done with P.T. I would have never thought my healing would be so easy. It’s a very good feeling that we can have the best of the best doctors just a few miles away. I’m not one that can just drive to Minneapolis or Sioux Falls. Lost my husband last year, and I was on my own. Having things so close to home helps me take better care of myself and didn’t have to make plans for a driver every time I went to the doctor.I really enjoyed all the nurses in and out of the hospital. They were always ready to help and very easy to talk to.
All in all a very good experience.

– PH –

My knee pain kept me awake at night. Other doctors wanted me to wait until I needed a full knee replacement before they would do anything. Dr. Chatrath was able to do a partial knee replacement which removed all pain. I was back to work in less than 3 weeks after the surgery. I have no problems walking, sitting or standing and can even get some light kneeling in at times.

– CA –

I had my knee replaced July 15, 2015. The previous year, I’d had a lot of pain from bone on bone on the left inside knee and trouble sleeping at night. I’d lay on my side and the knee would constantly hurt. Dr. Chatrath explained everything well ahead of time — what was going to happen with surgery. He recommended a week’s worth of pre-exercises to build the knee up. They took very good care of me in the hospital and answered all my questions. They gave me really good instructions of what to do at home. As far as pain, now almost a year later, other than a little stiffness right away when I get up after I’ve been sitting, it feels great. I don’t have any trouble sleeping anymore. Since then I’ve had the right knee done – 6 months after the first one and everything has gone well with that one, too. I wish I had done it earlier with the first one and not had as much pain for as long.

– JM –

I suffered with my knee for almost a year. I just kept putting it off and finally decided it was enough and chose Dr. Chatrath to see. It was a good choice. I had my knee replaced almost a year ago and have had no trouble since. In fact, if I’m going up a step, I’ll use the surgery knee first. I depend on my new knee more than my real knee. I would recommend to anyone to go to Dr. Chatrath.

– DS –

It has been a year since I had my hip replaced. Everything is going very well and I appreciate being able to walk without limping. Dr. Chatrath and his associates are very caring and answer all the questions you have. Although I sure hope another joint won’t have to replaced, I would return to him.

– BW –

I had my knee replaced June, 2015. It had been bothering me and was bone on bone. There was no pain after surgery – that was the nicest thing. Therapy went very well. I used a walker and was very careful. Within two months I was walking by myself. Now a year later, I’m doing well. Doctor Chatrath was very honest and thorough with all my questions and whatever I was concerned about.

– JV –

My right knee was bad from wear and tear over the years. I had no cartilage left–bone on bone. I had arthritis. My ACL was torn. I had a tough time wondering if I was going to be able to walk when I woke up. This made work a nightmare. I made an appointment with Dr. Chatrath. He x-rayed the knee, told me what needed to be done and all the steps that would be taken. I had my knee replaced on January 11th. Everything went exactly as he said. I went through therapy. Was done with therapy the end of February. Went back to work February 29th. I had an office job for 2 weeks — 6 hours a day for two weeks and then one week of 8 hours. I went back to full time work on March 24th. My full time job requires me to walk anywhere from 4-7 miles a day and climb 40-60 flights of steps a day. My knee was sore at first but continued to get better and better. And now I get around quite well with it. Not much pain at all. I’m pretty much healed.

– AP –

I went to see Dr. Chatrath in Nov 2015 because I had severe pain in my left knee. I had tried physical therapy and steroid injections to no avail. He conducted an evaluation and we decided that a total knee replacement was the best course of action. I opted for a patient specific replacement knee designed especially for my body. I had the surgery on March 7, 2016. The surgery went very well. I was up and walking with a walker the same day. Big Stone therapy started physical therapy almost immediately. I want to recommend the therapists there as well. Today I am pain free and have full range of motion in my new knee.

– NS –

Before I had my hip surgery, I would sit in a chair and when I got up to walk to the other side of the room, my hip would hurt. I didn’t think the groin area was a hip problem but someone told me “you’ve got hip troubles”. I went to my family doctor and she said I could go to Dr. Chatrath. I had my hip replaced in February and have been very happy with the outcome.

– MB –

I had a bad fall in 2014. I saw Dr. Chatrath and he said my shoulder needed replacing. My daughter was with me when we came in for my surgery. We both were impressed with Dr. Chatrath. I sure would recommend him to anybody. I got good therapy with Big Stone at Avera. Everything was “just right” all the way through. All my check-ups were real good. No problems.

– ES –

On Feb. 29, 2016 I had left knee replacement with Dr. Chatrath and his team. I highly recommend him to anyone needing knee replacement. The surgery and recovery were almost pain free and the results are excellent. It is now 2 months since surgery and I am able to enjoy being active again. Before surgery I had pain when walking, stairs were to be avoided and I was embarrassed when people saw me limping.
I had been putting off surgery because I had right knee replacement surgery with a different orthopedic surgeon about 7 years ago and that experience was a nightmare. I had extreme pain for a month and the results were poor with the joint occasionally coming out of place when sleeping on my side with my knees bent. The joint has to pop back into place when I straighten my leg and that knee is still swollen. Having gone through a bad experience previously makes me so grateful to Dr. Chatrath for his expertise. He knows what he is doing. The whole team was friendly, professional and they are very good at their jobs. The nurses and staff at Avera were very caring. Thank you!!

– CV –

I had a very bad knee. It bothered me a lot. I waited since October because of holidays and prior engagements until January when they called me and they had an opening for me. I took it. I had knee replacement surgery January 27, 2016. It went very well. Doctor did a terrific job and everything went so good in the hospital and at home.

– LC –

I had my first surgery on my right hip in 1996. I began having problems again in 2008 so had a second surgery on the same hip. In 2014, my hip pain returned so my medical doctor referred me to Dr. Chatrath. He took x-rays and could see there was fluid around it and that could end up being problematic with infection. Dr. Chatrath also saw by the x-rays that the cup was not positioned correctly and was wearing. So it was up to me to make the decision to go ahead with surgery. Dr. Chatrath fixed the problem by replacing the cup and ball and positioned it correctly. Everything has gone well since my surgery a year ago. The staff was excellent. I was only in the hospital two days. I followed up with therapy and that went well. We give Dr. Chatrath an A-1 rating! He has a good personality and we’ve been very impressed.  

– GA –

I could not stand on my knee and limped very badly. When I’d get to moving, I’d explain it as “an old rusty barn hinge that would stick” and I’d just about fall on my face. I then had full knee replacement surgery. I had no pain with the surgery. I did the therapy as I was supposed to and now three months later I have no pain. That knee feels perfect and I plan on getting my other knee done because that one is failing. I would recommend it to anybody that’s even thinking about it. Do it and you’ll have no regrets!  

– GL –

I’ve had two total knee replacements in a year and a half. I’ve gotten along good with both. I liked the joint camp that got me ready for surgery and I think it really helped me. I was to a point where I couldn’t walk. The left knee was the worst so we did that first. The other knee had to be repaired, also, though. I was well taken care of in the hospital. I feel my recovery time was less because of Doctor’s technique. All my questions were answered any time I called. I called for prescriptions to go to the dentist and they immediately got back to me. I have rheumatoid arthritis. Because of my RA, my Rheumatologist was able to get me to a point where I could have surgery. I didn’t realize Doctor Chatrath will follow up with me every two years.  

– TW –

I had left knee replacement surgery 12 years ago and they recommended I would need surgery on the right knee, at that time. I had the right knee replaced about six months ago after a fall. Surgery went as planned with no complications. Therapy was fantastic. I worked with two different people at Big Stone Therapy and they were patient and also motivated me to strive to improve mobility of my knee. We did physical therapy in the pool and that was very helpful in improving the extension of my knee. Dr. Chatrath’s staff was great. His Nurse Practitioner was always positive with me in the hospital and during follow-up visits. The staff at Avera was great including the radiology department. They were always polite and nice.  

– KR –

I had arthritis of the hip for several years. The last year was getting to be pain all the time. That’s when I came to see Dr. Chatrath. I had gone to his seminar so knew about him. I had my hip replaced about a year ago. Surgery went fine. Therapy went very good. I was only in therapy for 4 weeks. I didn’t use a cane at all and a walker not very long. It went very good. A year later, I don’t even feel I had surgery. There’s no pain there at all. I walk around the track and do chair yoga at the YMCA 3 x a week.  

– DW –

I very unexpectedly fell and they told me my hip broke before I fell. That caused my fall. That was on a Saturday and I didn’t go to the doctor until Sunday. It was a pretty rough night. I went to Granite Falls Hospital and they did an x-ray and said I needed hip surgery. They said Marshall was the closest that was available at the time, so they took me to Marshall by ambulance. Surgery was on Monday and I went home on Wednesday. Recovery went really well for me. I was really, really pleased. After a few sessions of therapy they said I didn’t need that anymore. I would highly recommend Dr. Chatrath. After a year’s exam, he said everything was great. He was pleased with how I could walk and move and everything looked really good. He said I didn’t have to see him anymore unless something was wrong.  

– JC –

I had knee replacement surgery one year ago. It was just awful so I had to replace it. I couldn’t climb stairs. I couldn’t do much of anything. It even bothered me when I was in bed. The first week was a little painful but I made it. I’m so happy I had it done and happy I had it done with Dr. Chatrath. I had planned to go to Sioux Falls but I read an article in the Marshall Independent about how well that man was getting along and how satisfied he was with his procedure, so I changed my mind fast. I decided to come to Dr. Chatrath instead of going to Sioux Falls. Needless to say, I’m getting along very well. No pain. I hope my next knee goes as well as this one. I highly recommend Dr. Chatrath for knee replacement. Dr. Chatrath and his staff are just excellent and he has certainly got a good bedside manner.  

– RO –

I had my hip surgery 6 weeks ago and the pain wasn’t nearly what I thought it was going to be – even right after surgery. I took my pain medication for about a week and then off and on before bed. After about 3 weeks I didn’t need any more pain medication. I had a bad knee before and that actually slowed my therapy progress some. I started walking with my cane about a half mile and now the last two weeks I can walk a mile without my cane, with no pain and without stopping. That’s something I couldn’t do before I had the surgery. I would recommend this to anyone who’s having hip problems.  

– RL –

When I first visited Dr. Chatrath, I was told that I needed both knees replaced. I was very nervous about the whole surgery. I waited a year and a half before returning to the doctor. Ultimately, I had my first knee replaced in September. It was amazing. From the first step after surgery, my pain was gone. The hospital personnel were all so nice and kind. My recovery was rather quick. I had my other knee replaced three months later. I couldn’t be happier. I haven’t been able to go up and down steps like this in years. Now, I can keep up with those grandchildren. I recommend Dr. Chatrath to anyone in need.  

– MP –

I can’t say enough good things about Dr. Chatrath, his assistants and staff. I had a knee replaced in November. The patient information and care I received was outstanding. The Joint Camp was very informational, so I went into surgery with all my questions answered and confident of the outcome. I have had a quick, remarkable recovery with very little discomfort or inconvenience. When I contacted Dr. Chatrath with a question following surgery I got a very timely response. I could not ask for a better surgical team. Thank you!  

– PL –

I’ve had trouble with my ankle for years. I did wear a boot for a while but then the ankle was going to the right a lot. I finally got clearance to see Dr. Chatrath and he said we could fix it. I had surgery December, 2015. Surgery went as planned. I have a pin and six screws in my ankle. I wasn’t able to walk on it at all to start with. I worked with therapy about a month. I had a boot on and could start light weight bearing after a couple weeks. After the boot came off I still walked gingerly. I’m walking with a cane now, which reminds me not to do too much. Doc told me what to expect after surgery. Doc was very accommodating and answered all my questions. I think he did a good job.  

– NA –

For about 2 years I had pain in my hip but not too bad. I went to physical therapy and that did not help the pain. I then saw Dr. Chatrath and found out I had arthritis real bad in my hip plus had a bone that had slipped. He said that my hip looked like a mushroom. He said I definitely needed surgery and that was why I was having so much pain. I had surgery a year ago. After surgery I went to physical therapy for 6 weeks and that helped strengthen my hip and get back to walking normal again. It all helped. Today everything is just great. No more pain. I’m walking just fine. I could not be happier. Dr. Chatrath did a fantastic job. If it wasn’t for him, I don’t know where I’d be now. You cannot find a better surgeon than Dr. Chatrath – he is the best! If you ever need surgery, he’d be the one!  

– DS –

I came to see Dr. Chatrath because my hip pain was getting increasingly worse. I’m absolutely satisfied with him. He did a good job. My hip works well. My motto is; if it’s not broke, you don’t try to fix it, but my hip was worn out and needed fixing. I would highly recommend Dr. Chatrath to anyone. Surgery went good. Therapy went very well afterwards. I have no more pain whatsoever.  

– RD –

I had a very painful right hip and I let it go too long. I had my hip replaced June, 2014. The surgery went as planned – excellent. The hospital stay went well. I had pain but got through it fine. I was able to do all the things they wanted me to do at home. I was walking quite well, soon. I manage steps much better now than I did. It was almost like a miracle to have my hip fixed and ready to roll.  

– AH –

I had an injury to my knee in August, 2014. I saw a specialist numerous times for four months saying I needed nothing done. My family doctor finally recommended I see Dr. Chatrath since I was still in such pain. After 10 minutes with Dr. Chatrath he knew exactly what needed to be fixed. I had surgery a year later, August, 2015, and it has been perfect since. I had therapy for a very short time with it going very well. Now I’m driving and flying and hope to be gardening this summer. I have my life back!  

– CD –

I had surgery August, 2015, for total knee replacement. Surgery and everything went fine. Therapy went real good. Everything went excellent. I was very pleased with everything. I haven’t had any problems. I’ve recommended Dr. Chatrath to different people. I tell people who say their knee hurts to go see Dr. Chatrath and hopefully they come.  

– JN –

I’ve recently had two total knee replacements – July and September, 2015. I had rheumatoid arthritis, which caused them to deteriorate faster than they should have. Everything is working out really good with less pain and I am able to walk without having to stop every little bit to rest. People compliment me that I don’t look like I’m in pain anymore. Surgery went well on both knees – better than I hoped it would be.  

– DS –

My right leg was shorter than my left. Dr. Chatrath was able to do the adjustment. I’m very pleased with it. I recovered much faster with my right hip, which Dr. Chatrath did, than the one I had in January, 2014 with a different surgeon. I got rid of my walker in two weeks and my cane in three weeks. I feel I recovered much faster with surgery by Dr. Chatrath. Doctor explained everything beforehand very thoroughly. Since then I have told other people about my surgeon. Actually, my brother came to Dr. Chatrath because he was disappointed with his knee surgery he had elsewhere.  

– TV –

I was in misery for 4 years and got to a point where I couldn’t take it anymore. A nurse at the clinic looked through my old records and recommended that I go to see a different specialist. I had a consult appointment with Dr. Chatrath and after a few minutes, said “let’s do surgery”. Surgery went fine. It’s been three months and I’m doing great. I can even walk without a cane and have no pain. I’m even thinking of going dancing again!!!  

– LK –

Doctor Chatrath had to go in and take out all the old stuff and clear up the infection before he could put the new knee in. He put a spacer in for awhile. He knows what he’s doing! He’s done a good job. It’s been a year and the x-rays look good.  

– LM –

I thought I had arthritis in my hip and x-rays showed I needed something done. I went through surgery without much pain. I did go to the nursing home for a few weeks. Therapy saw me there, which was a good thing so I didn’t have to go to outside appointments. I was appreciative of the nursing home care. I did not need therapy after I left the nursing home. Everything went good and I had no problems. The follow up x-rays look good.  

– CPN –

I really liked Dr. Chatrath the first time I saw him when I came in to see how my hip was. He seemed to be very thorough. He wasn’t pushy – he just said it looked like I needed a hip replacement and I was sure I did. I had all the confidence in him that I possibly could have. Everything went smoothly. I remember that he came in and talked to me after my surgery that day. He said everything went well and I should expect to be able to go home soon. On my visits back after my surgery they showed me the x-rays and said everything looked just great. I do not have any pain whatsoever walking, sitting, laying – everything is great!  

– ML –

In 2014, I had my right hip replaced. The surgeon over-extended my leg by ¾ inch. When I had my left hip replaced in 2015, Dr. Chatrath corrected that, even though it took him extra time during the surgery to do it. This sure helped my outlook after surgery to not walk with a limp. I would recommend Dr. Chatrath to anyone. You don’t have to go to Sioux Falls to have surgery.  

– CW –

I had a hip replacement last Dec. 31, 2014. The results were wonderful. It has been nearly a year now. I have no pain and have very good motion and movement in my hip. No one can tell which hip I had surgery on. I did PT for 5 weeks and then went on with the rest of my life. Dr. Chatrath is an excellent surgeon. He is cautious and trains his staff to provide specific measures in sanitation for the care of the incision. He has an extrordinary bedside manner and truly cares about his patients as individuals. I would highly recommend him as a surgeon.  

– MJE –

They were very explicit in the meetings ahead of time which was very helpful. Things were explained very well. I think everybody was very kind. I had very little pain. The pain was taken care of with the medications. I really didn’t need the medications very long. I didn’t rely on the medications after the pain was gone. I drove within 3 weeks.  

– MC –

I wish that I would have had the first knee replacement done here instead of Sioux Falls. I had a much better recovery time. The pain was handled better. Dr. Chatrath was just wonderful. He took time to hear what I had to say. I’ve been telling people what a good job he does and recommending people to come here.  

– CS –

When I first met Dr. Chatrath, just seeing how meticulously he kept himself, I knew I was in good hands. My first judgement was totally correct. I would recommend him to anyone.  

– DM –

I went to a seminar in the hospital and Dr. Chatrath showed what he could do. He was very impressive. I thought if I ever needed surgery, that’s who I’d go to. Doctor has been very good when I come for follow up visits. I’m very pleased. I’d recommend him to anybody.  

– DG –

Dr. Chatrath and Treia, I drew you a picture to thank you for taking good care of my wrist. It feels all better.  

– PA –

Our experience was that the doctor’s concern was very important to us. He was concerned in what was going on. Also, my husband had a bad hip for a long time and a torn hip lining for months – evidently there was some bleeding there. When surgery was performed, the doctor thought there were small tumors in the area and he was thorough enough to send all that in for testing. He was concerned of cancer being there. To our delight, it turned out fine! Also, another point that we liked about Dr. Chatrath is he was very concerned about the bandaging. He likes to take care of it himself. That is a very big plus in our lives. The fact that we saw him more than once at the hospital was a plus. The fact that we have these follow-ups is a plus that he cares enough to keep checking on how progress is going.  

– CL –

I think Dr. Chatrath is excellent. He explains everything on the x-rays and explains on the models. He’s very personable. I’ve recommended him to others because he’s so good.  

– MD –

I had knee surgery about 15 years ago before I came to see Dr. Chatrath to get new knees. I lived with staph in my system for that many years. I came in and he said if I passed every test and bone scan that I’d be able to have new knees. I had the first knee done 1/14/14 and came out of it with flying colors. Everybody in the hospital that knew my history said if you go through all this and don’t have any problems, it’ll be good for you. The second knee I had done 11/26/14 and came out of that one with flying colors and am doing great. I recommend him for any surgery you have. Go to Dr. Chatrath, he is great.  

– LN –

Dr. Chatrath did a revision on my right knee a couple years ago. I ended up with a drop foot and Dr. Chatrath apologized over and over and over but it’s really nothing that he did. He said it could be from the swelling of the knee after surgery or injections during surgery. I went on vitamin B12, did exercises with it and it probably took 8-9 months and it’s now fine. I did have a brace on for 6 months. Dr. Chatrath also did my right shoulder and I had absolutely no problems with it. He also did surgery on my left hip and that’s good now. Dr. Chatrath is very caring, always concerned and just a wonderful doctor.  

– CB –

Doctor Chatrath is very good at what he does. My leg is completely back to normal. I’d highly recommend him to anybody else. They’d be lucky to get him and I was lucky to get him!  

– CC –

Full disclosure… I am an employee of Avera Marshall Regional Medical Center. I had heard nothing but good about Dr. Chatrath from his patients and colleagues. Even so, I was quite anxious facing total knee replacement surgery. My fears and worries were wasted. I am completely amazed at the results. I have had zero (as in none, zip, zilch, nada) post operative pain, and my progress with physical therapy has been ahead of schedule. I transitioned from a walker to a cane two weeks following surgery, and was able to walk a good distance. I am told by the surgical team that my knee was in particularly poor condition, and that the procedure was quite complicated. Be that as it may, I have experienced the same superior results reported by so many of Dr. Chatrath’s patients. Speaking of the team Dr. Chatrath has put together, everyone from the Physician Assistants, Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists, surgical team, radiology technicians, office personnel and Physical Therapists are among the best in the business. Each and every one models superior patient care. Led by Dr. Chatrath, each and every one delivers unsurpassed medical care and extraordinary results.  

– GC –

This was my first major surgery and at my age it could have been very traumatic but I felt I had no choice as I could not walk. With the new knee, I walk and am comfortable and getting my strength back. I’m thankful for the care and treatment I got.  

– MR –

Procedure was explained quite well as far as what happened. I think I bounced back pretty fast. I was only using the walker a day and a half. I progressed really fast with therapy. Walking was quite easy. For not having steps at home, they weren’t a problem either. I went back to work about 2 ½ weeks after surgery. I work on hard floors so it wasn’t easy but it went fine.  

– PSM –

I could hardly walk a block. Steps were tough. Surgery went very well. The day of surgery I never used a walker – I only needed a cane. I did steps the first afternoon. Now I can stand and it does not bother me whatsoever – nothing like before. After two weeks I was walking very well with no walker or cane. I can kneel with no problem. Everything has been going great. The medical staff team was really good. Dr. Chatrath is really a good surgeon. I’m very impressed.  

– CR –

The total knee surgery met all my expectations. Communication with all the staff was excellent. I felt staff showed personal concern throughout the process. As a result my knee has recovered much sooner than anticipated. Since I teach nine aerobics classes a week, the process and the results were much appreciated. This will keep me working til I’m 90.  

– SM –

LIVING WITH CHRONIC HIP PAIN FOR THREE PLUS YEARS – DR. CHATRATH TO THE RESCUE!
I had been having hip pain for years. The pain was in my glutes, my pelvic area, the side of my leg and my lower back, all on the left side. I had been going to the chiropractor for this for some time. He told me there was nothing he could really do for me anymore, and suggested that I see Dr. Chatrath. This was in February, 2014. I had been having this pain that was chronic, for well over a year at that time. My first visit with Dr. Chatrath in February, 2014, was great. He examined me, looked at the x-ray that had been done by my chiropractor and then scheduled an MRI. The MRI showed that I had a labral tear and a princer lesion. Dr. Chatrath submitted a request to my insurance company for pre-approval. It was denied. He did this two more times in the spring of 2014 and all three times the request was denied by my insurance company. I had been attending physical therapy in hopes of alleviating the chronic pain. It did not work; in fact, the pain was becoming worse the more intense the therapy was. The pain affected everything that I did in my life. I work out of the home full time. I have an office job, where I have a standing work station and am able to sit OR stand to work. Both sitting and standing caused the pain to be worse. I am a very active farm wife, which involves helping with the planting, harvesting, rock picking, working with our cow/calf operation, doing chores, etc.
There are many, many things that happen on the farm that were more difficult to do because of the pain. I still did all of these things and just “sucked it up” as far as the pain was concerned. I also spent four hours each week mowing our lawn. Shoveling snow was painful. Simply going for walks in the evening with my dog was painful. The ability to have an intimate relationship with my husband was painful. EVERYTHING I did that involved my hip area caused the pain. It was a constant 24 hour a day chronic pain with some days being worse than others. I could not lay on my left side as it hurt too much. In addition, I am an avid member of the gym and I had to adjust and eventually stop doing running and all lower body exercises, as they were too painful. Fast forward to the early summer of 2015, and my chronic pain just kept getting worse. It was keeping me awake at night now. In July, 2015, I decided I was going to go back and see Dr. Chatrath. He examined me once again and we discussed my situation at length. Together we decided he would again submit a request for pre-approval to my insurance company, mind you this had been done three times already. The odds were not in my favor and I was skeptical that it would never be approved. Well, for some reason, the fourth time was the YES! I was literally in shock at the “yes”. Dr. Chatrath’s office called and we scheduled the surgery for August 19th. I was forewarned by Dr. Chatrath that for the first two weeks, for sure, that I would/could have some pretty intense pain and that he would not be my favorite person. The day of surgery came and I have to say I NEVER felt nervous. I was actually excited to have the surgery as I couldn’t wait for the pain to be gone. Dr. Chatrath explained to me that there were no guarantees that the surgery would eliminate my pain. Also, because my 50th birthday is around the corner, the odds were not in my favor, either, for total success. I believed in my doctor, though, and believed that with the help of God guiding his hands, all would be well. Dr. Chatrath repaired my torn labrum by tacking it down with three titanium tacks. He then shaved off and cleaned up my pincer lesion, It was same day surgery and when my husband and I got home from the hospital that evening of August 19th, I looked at him and said… MY CHRONIC PAIN IS GONE! IT IS GONE! Also, I honestly never had the intense pain that Dr. Chatrath had tried to prepare me for mentally. I kept waiting for it and it never happened. My surgery, my recovery and my rehab has been a huge success and I owe it all to the one and only, the amazing Dr. Chatrath! He is my hero! In all of my interactions with Dr. Chatrath, he was always very professional and very real. What I mean by that is that he was very honest with me from the beginning and he helped me to weigh all the pros and cons of having surgery. As I sit here and write this, I have a smile on my face because Dr. Chatrath has given me my life back! He is not only a wonderful doctor and surgeon, he is a wonderful man. He has a great sense of humor and a great “bedside” manner, so to speak. Dr. Chatrath NEVER rushed through my appointments and he ALWAYS made sure that all of my questions were answered before leaving the room. I truly felt like he cared about me as a person and that I was not just another patient. Because of him, his persistence, his skill, his honesty and professionalism, I no longer have to deal with constant hip pain day in and day out! I am almost eight weeks post op and this past weekend, I danced and danced and danced at my niece’s wedding. I thought that I would be very sore from this and I WASN’T! I am free of the chronic pain! It is amazing and I thank God for bringing Dr. Chatrath into my life. He is a ROCK STAR and I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of an orthopedic doctor!
FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART, THANK YOU DR. CHATRATH AND TEAM! YOU ARE ALL AMAZING! I LOVE WHAT YOU HAVE DONE FOR ME!  

– AL –

I will start by saying what a wonderful man Dr. Chatrath is! My son had a horse accident at Garvin Parks and had to go by ambulance to the Marshall Avera hospital. He had a very bad break in his leg and ended up with a rare problem in his leg and was close to losing his leg. Dr. Chatrath knew right away what was going on and did what he had to do to keep his leg. He was in hospital for nine days with dr. coming to check on him every single day even when it was his day off.
A year has passed with dr. visits every couple of months. We had a choice to see a dr. closer to home but decided to stick with Chatrath since he was a lifesaver! I would recommend him to anyone! He will not sugar coat anything and let you know exactly what needs to be done. He will be with you to the end and help you with anything and make sure you understand everything. My son is 16 years old and had lots of questions for him and he took the time at every appointment to answer every one of them.
Dr. Chatrath is one man my son will never forget. He would do anything to pay him back for saving his leg! That is one man that deserves a gold medal!

– MM –

Dr. Chatrath did a good job. Both knees feel good and solid. The last knee surgery was a week ago and I’m already walking with a cane.

– GA –

I had a great experience. I went to Dr. Chatrath in May and had a shoulder replacement surgery. I am very satisfied. Before surgery, I couldn’t raise my arm more than 3-4 inches but now I have great mobility in the arm. I have a friend who was hesitant to have surgery but I said to go for it and she’s been very happy, too.

– ME –

Everything went fine. He did what he had to do. I was pleased with everything. I was very satisfied.

– JH –

Everybody was very professional and very caring. Dr. Chatrath and Treia explained things very thoroughly. Even though I’m a Physical Therapist, they still explained it well. Everything was well coordinated. I feel like I have fully recovered.

– KC –

I suffered a major skiing accident in December, 2014 affecting my left knee. I was devastated. I had finally qualified for the Boston Marathon on April of 2015 and was concerned that I would not be able to run the race with the injury. I went to two major orthopedic centers in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Both centers gave me little encouragement in attempting to rehabilitate the knee and run the race. I was not happy with what they were telling me. I felt that the doctors at both centers did not listen to me because of my age. The doctors at both centers offered a rehabilitation program that would get me back walking. I was not satisfied with that. Dr. Chatrath was the only doctor that treated me like an athlete and listened to what I was saying. With his guidance I was able to run and complete the 119 Boston Marathon. Thank you Dr. Chatrath!

– RD –

When I first went to see Dr. Chatrath, I was having pain in both of my knees.
I couldn’t flatten my right leg, so in order to sleep at night, I had to have that heel hanging off the edge of the bed.
Both/either of my knees would give out on me at any point and not hold me upright. I never even think about my legs holding me up anymore. I can always count on them now.
I had my right total knee replacement November 10, 2014 and my left total knee replacement on May 20, 2015.
Dr. Chatrath explained my condition and the procedures excellently. He is very thorough and very encouraging.
I had no pain from the surgery, but I did during the physical therapy. Be prepared to do your physical therapy exercises regularly with a good physical therapist at their office and at your own home. The more you make an effort, the better and faster you will improve.
I recommend anyone that is considering this surgery to request him to do your surgery. They are a great team with great results.

– NP –

I had my Hip Arthroplasty done on May 11, 2015 with Dr. Chatrath. For the past 2-3 years I lived with pain in my lower back (more on the right side), always thinking it was something I would just have to live with. I really liked running and would go 4 miles in 35-40 minutes. Then the pain got worse and I had to quit running, so went to walking and eventually that was too much and I had to quit that. I couldn’t do a lot of the physical things I wanted to do anymore. I would go to my Chiropractor when it was bad and she was the one to suggest doing something different as we couldn’t keep the pain away. I made an appointment with Dr. Chatrath and after having an injection, that worked for a couple of weeks, they did the MRI and that showed the labral tear. I was scheduled for Same Day Surgery and after the first week at home my pain was so minimal that I started cutting back on the pain medications. The pain I did have was from the surgery, but I could tell that the pain I had before the surgery was gone. After doing my physical therapy I feel great and on August 12th I took a 4 mile walk around the section without any pain. I would recommend this surgery and Dr. Chatrath to anyone who is in need of orthopedic surgery.

– BL –